The "Configure" button on an Integration page


#1

If I open the page for my integration, then click my icon underneath the “Your Integrations” label, then add a repo from there, my webhook gets delivered an installation_integration_repositories.

If I open the page for my integration, then click the Configure button, then add a repo from there, my webhook gets delivered an installation_integration. This is done whether or not my user already has an installation associated with its repo. This doesn’t result in multiple installations for my user, though; instead, it means my webhook endpoint is getting an installation_integration event with a create action, even though the installation already exists. It has the same installation ID and everything.

Could GitHub not send a “installation created” event for the same installation multiple times?

By “integration page,” I’m referring to URLs like https://github.com/integration/bors-ng


#3

Hi @notriddle,

If I open the page for my integration, then click the Configure button, then add a repo from there, my webhook gets delivered an installation_integration.

After you click the configure button, do you see a list of your existing installations then follow “configure” on one of those and add a repo from there?

We haven’t been able to reproduce the behavior you describe, but receive the expected installation_integration_repositories wherever a repository is added to an existing installation. So we’d love to clarify exactly what you experience in the flow where you receive an unexpected installation_integration event. Thanks!


#4

After further testing, it looks like it only happens when the Integration has exactly one installation that I have access to. Sorry if linking to bors-ng was misleading; it had one installation at a time, but now it has two. It might have something to do with it being a private integration vs a public one, too.

Anyway, on a private integration, attached to my user account, with exactly one installation: when I click the Configure button, I do not see a list of organizations and users that I have admin privileges in, like I see with a public integration.

Instead, when I click the configure button, I’m sent to the “Installing [integration]” page. It’s the same page that comes up when I create the installation for the first time. The repos that are associated with the existing installation are not shown in the list, either.


#5

Ah thanks for clarifying @notriddle. OK, we can reproduce and see the bug now… we’ll post an update once that’s changed.


#6

@notriddle this should be good now - configure should take you to the edit the existing installation in that situation, and you’d receive the installation_integration_repositories for any changes to the repositories. Cheers!


#7

Cool, thanks!


#8

This topic was automatically closed 2 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.